Error code 80048820 and Windows XP

In the last 48 hours Microsoft has improved the security of Microsoft Account/Windows Live ID/.NET Passport authentication by requiring you to use Transport Layer Security (TLS) to sign in.  TLS is the “next version” of what you might know as SSL, commonly shown as a padlock icon in the address bar of a web browser.

The problem with this change is that by default, Windows XP has TLS support disabled.  This also means that Messenger will fail to sign in and you’ll see the following message with error code 80048820:
Error code 80048820

To solve the problem, you will need to turn on TLS in Windows.  You can either download and run the latest version of Reviver to enable this, or follow the three steps below:

  1. Click Start, then Run, type inetcpl.cpl and click OK.
    Run box
  2. Click the Advanced tab, scroll down to the Security section at the bottom and select Use TLS 1.0 so that it’s checked.
    Turn on TLS
  3. Then choose OK and try Messenger again.

The change should take effect immediately and you should now be able to sign in as normal.

Posted on December 17, 2014, in Messenger, MSN Messenger, News. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Hi tried many ‘fixes’ including your new post fix for the latest error and its still not working. skype isn’t working either as i attempted to try that to see if it was messenger. any help/advice?

  2. Hiya i’m having this problem on a windows 7 pc, i followed the steps above and my messenger still isn’t working.

  3. Unfortunately this does not help me. My messenger worked yesterday but now I get error code: 81000306. Yesterday I also changed my virusprogram from Panda to Bitdefender – could that be my problem?

  4. Thanks Jonathan! 🙂

  5. Hi.

    I am using Win 7 and this option is already enabled though I can’t install neither MSN 2009 nor 2012… I am getting this: http://s10.ifotos.pl/img/komunikat_whqaahe.png but I don’t disturb the process of installation. Do you know what’s wrong with it? I can send the newest logs if needed.

  6. thanks! i’m wondering about my messenger doesnt works in XP anymore. now its clearly for me. let us know if new Reviver version is available. 🙂

  7. I’m on Windows Vista and was receiving the error mentioned here yesterday. Today, I turned TLS on and tried signing in again, but now I’m getting error code 80072efd, which states that there may be a problem with my internet connection. There isn’t, obviously. Was wondering if you’d know what could be causing this. Thank you!

  8. Windows 7. Since this afternoon I can’t login on msn anymore. Error 80072efd.
    Already checked TLS 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0.

  9. Thanks for being quick about things like this.

  10. I am getting error 80072efd everytime i try to sign in. I tried installing MSN again with MSN Reviver, but does not work.

  11. You work so fast and you’re so awesome! Just THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  12. thanks u dude!!! u are a genius!!! 😀

  13. Thank U !!! 😀

  14. How to do this on Mac?

  15. Thank u so much, Jonathan. You saved my life!

  16. Excellent! Keep up the good work, Jonathan. Unbelievable btw that encryption of M$ mail had to wait until almost 2015.

  1. Pingback: Messenger Service now requiring HTTPS (and error code 80072efd) | Jonathan Kay, MessengerGeek

Leave a comment