MSN Direct Continued

Well, the MSN Direct saga has yet to end.   After getting someone at MSN Direct to confer with (thanks again Sherry), it seems this is what occurred:
"While you were trying to signup the very first time with your Passport the connection between your computer and our setup servers were lost for a few seconds during the crucial setup of your account in our billing system.  This looks to have caused your Passport to become corrupted in our billing system preventing you from signing up further."

Apparently there isn’t anything they can do about this (purging corrupt Passport info isn’t possible?) and the only resolution is to use another Passport, which if you’ve read my previous entry will void any sort of Messenger integration.

I have to admit I’m a tad disappointed.  Since support on the phone seemed to know of this problem before and one other MVP has already told me they had the same (both resolutions being to use another Passport), it sounds to me like there’s a bug in the activation site that needs to be dealt with.

Posted on April 20, 2005, in MSN Direct Saga. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That does suck, although at least you do get some coverage. When I went to Indianapolis I was hoping to play around with it, but the watch wouldn\’t acquire a tune station and all troubleshooting with phone support has been futile. It appears there may be something wrong with the watch or MSN Direct\’s servers. :-(@Matthew

  2. Not to ask the obvious…but when you went to Indianapolis did you enter your travel location to your direct account for the appropriate days before hand?

  3. SeattleAudio: It was entered as my home location since I have no other coverage anywhere and was only going to use it in Indianapolis.FYI everyone, Jon got his watching working – with a little help from those few within MSN who are competent.@Matthew

  4. This is why I left MSN Direct. THey could not get billing correct on my account, even though they told me it was correct in their books. It was not even one day right, so I left. Maybe when/if they come out with those all in one alarm desk clocks, I\’ll THINK about using this service again. Until then, You\’re better off canceling the service and getting a watch that doesn\’t require money to work (Yes I know I really liked the watch when I got it. It\’s too much of a bother now though.)

  1. Pingback: Fair thee well MSN Direct « Jonathan Kay, MessengerGeek

Leave a Reply

