Issues signing in to Messenger today

Within the last 24-hours or so, a handful of users have let me know that they haven’t been able to sign into Messenger and are receiving error code 80072efd (which means quite simply, “can’t connect”).

This new problem is related to earlier changes Microsoft has made to push Messenger to HTTP and then also to HTTPS.  Now, another group of the Messenger servers no longer are accepting all connections (specifically HTTP and Messenger protocol).  Although Reviver 2.4.0 attempts to address this, because of these changes, at times you will sometimes be sent to servers which older versions of Messenger can no longer connect to.

Despite a good number of sign-in attempts, I have yet to experience the problem, and it seems to be a matter of (bad) luck.  It’s certainly possible this was happening before, but it’s only now become an issue.  A good percentage of those who have had the problem have been able to get back in by simply trying again later.

Unfortunately, there’s no particular elegant fix for this without some software development, but if you’re consistently seeing this problem and wouldn’t mind doing a bit of beta testing on some possible fixes, leave a comment below indicating so and I’ll follow-up with you.

Additionally, Windows Live Messenger 2012 should not have the problem, so if you are using Windows 7 or above, you can upgrade to 2012.  To do so, download and run Reviver, choose the Advanced button, then Do a new Messenger install, and then choose Windows Live Messenger 2012.

Posted on January 9, 2015, in Messenger, MSN Messenger, News. Bookmark the permalink. 97 Comments.

  1. WLM 2008 here. I’ve been getting that “can’t connect” error a lot this week. Earlier signing in to my Live account worked. Today no luck. I wonder if a fresh Reviver install via 2.4 would help. Otherwise I could help w/ beta testing 🙂 Thanks!

    • WLM 2009 here, can’t sign in today either. I keep running into the 80072eff error, and I tried reinstalling and reviving the 2009 version. The 2012 version works fine, but I really like the 2009 version. Hope this can get fixed!

  2. Hi Jonathan. Sorry to bother, but is there any estimated time for the launch of a new Messenger Reviver version to fix error code 80072efd for WLM 2009/2011? Thank you very much for keeping MSN alive. You are the hero that is saving us from the Evil Microsoft!

  3. wlm 2009 error 80072f0d contactlist isnt available, please try later.
    also, when i look at the connections: you are not connected to .net messenger service

  4. Still having issues signing in sometimes:/ Are you still working on the solution Jonathan? Thanks.

  5. I can’t get a connection log because I can’t sign in.

  6. I got the error tonight & it’s looking unstoppable. I miss the 2009 version too.😦 I only use the 2012 version in my laptop.

  7. I got the error last night.😦 Can U make a new version of Reviver that can stop the error forever?

  8. I have windows xp, and I’m receiving error code 80072efd. I use msn live 2009. What can I do? Please answer me!! Thank you

  9. hello!! I need you help!! I have win 8.1 and my msn 2012 don´t work!!
    Code Error: 8009004

  10. Does that include windows 10 also, Jonathan?

Leave a Reply

